BEER #7: BLUE MOON, BLUE MOON BREWING COMPANY

ImageToday I was at a pizza shop and ordered a Blue Moon from Blue Moon Brewery Company in Golden, Colorado to go with my pizza (which I also forgot to take a picture of b/c I was so into eating my pizza – thanks Google Image!). Blue Moon has pretty much always been my domestic beer choice. It’s usually offered as a special along with beers like Coors, Bud Light, Budweiser and some of the cheap Mexican beers.

The head is medium and very creamy. The color is a foggy gold, thanks to it being an unfiltered wheat. You can immediately smell the citrus in this beer – orange, lemon and some spice. There is also a good amount of carbonation that comes along with this beer. This beer is sweeter than most, even though it’s a Belgian White. I love the actual orange slice garnished in this beer…I’m not going to lie – I hate eating oranges; however, the best part of this beer is the beer-soaked orange I get to eat once I reach the bottom of my pint glass…which you could argue says something about the beer considering I look more forward to the fruit than the beer. You can taste the wheat in the beer, although it’s not very full-bodied in my opinion.

This beer is light and citrusy. I think it’s a great light beer, and it seems that for most people, this is the first beer they enjoy when they are starting to emerge from the domestic beer scene. This beer is nothing special, but it’s definitely a classic in the bars and much better than a can of Bud Light or god forbid, Bud Platinum. If you are trying to expand your beer buddies’ palates, start them off on this beer, and they’ll slowly move along to enjoying and appreciating real craft delights on a day-to-day basis.

ABV: 5.4%; IBU: 9

Leave a comment